How to Form a LLC on Legal Zoom?

Forming a limited liability company, aka LLC, was much easier than I thought. I kept procrastinating on starting the paper work because I imagined it to be a headache-inducing task, but once I got started, it was almost too easy that I could get it done before I finished my cup of hot chocolate.

Before you get started, you should read about the difference between sole proprietorship and LLC.

Once you decide that a LLC is right for you, you have two options. 1) Hire a lawyer to take care of the paper work for you. Or 2) do it on Legal Zoom – this was more cost effective as it only costed $149. Either way, you would have to pay an additional $500 (MA) state filing fee.

The whole process can not be simpler.

Go to Legal Zoom, select the check box “I want to start a new business” and your state.

Legal Zoom LLC

Then you put in your information (address, nature of business, number of employees, etc.) Legal Zoom has a really simple and easy to understand user interface; it explains all the technical terms you need to know as you go.

Once you’re finished, it’ll take a couple weeks to a month for Legal Zoom to put together and mail you the legal documents. They put “Sign here” stickers on places you need to sign. You just sign them and mail everything back.

Legal Zoom LLC application

After that, you’ll get a final package from Legal Zoom confirming your LLC formation along with your certificate of organization and operating agreement. Your business is now legal!!

Leave a comment